Critical Cultural Heritage

Consists of: (i) the internationally recognized heritage of communities who use, or have used within living memory the cultural heritage for long-standing cultural purposes, (ii) legally protected cultural heritage areas, including those proposed by host governments for such designation; or (iii) natural areas with cultural and/or spiritual value such as sacred groves, sacred bodies of water and waterways, sacred trees, and sacred rocks.

(Adapted from: IFC Performance Standard 7, Para. 16; and Performance Standard 8, Para. 13)